Home > CNC Build > Slow Delivery – New Project

Slow Delivery – New Project

January 25, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments


I’m still waiting for that replacement LCD to arrive from china, i’ve ordered another from a UK seller.

I’ve not been sitting around twiddling my thumbs though; a while ago i saw a schematic for a stepper motor driver on instructables. It seemed a little over complicated to me and i figured i could easily build one using one of the PIC microcontrollers that i have, so i set about designing a cheap 3 channel stepper driver using just a 40 pin PIC and some mosfets. The advantage here is that i can give it a number of interface options such as a parallel interface, an RS232 interface or an I²C interface. There may also be options to include an LCD for status display.

The stepper driver circuit had reminded me of another one of my projects and i got the itch to start it. This is my CNC project. Its an MDF construction and the plan is that it will eventually be able to build a better version of itself. I’ve already started construction so I should soon be posting my designs.

  1. rlinnabaryjr
    December 6, 2013 at 8:34 pm

    TG,
    I would like to follow along on your CNC if you don’t mind. I am a CNC programmer using Mastercam X5 right now to do my part time work at home in my office out in my garage. I would also like to build a horizontal machine where the 4′ x 8′ aluminum table would lean at a 20 degree angle or so where I could load my part material from my wheelchair using a hoist if I was loading 4′ x 8′ wood material for example if I was going to be doing some custom furniture projects. I am thinking about using a router with a lot of power to it so that I could also use my table as a vacuum fixture to machine what ever I was making with trim tabs (or some call them snap tabs).

    Anyways I have access to full size machine shops that I could design my machine with dowel pin and bolt contruction / hybrid similar to your design, except I would like to be able to machine aluminum with a 1/2″ end mill at least without much of a problem.

    I wish you the best on your machine as you progress into the future with it! Looks like you know what you are doing. My strong point is the CAD/CAM/CAE/CNC Programming end of things. What I need to educate myself on is the drivers to run the stepper motors, interfacing the computer with the electronics to get the code to make things happen. This is what I need the most help with learning !!!

    Thanks for your time and have a great day!
    Rick

    p.s.
    I need to completly redo my blog…

  1. April 12, 2011 at 12:04 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

